If It Snowed On Bernal Hill, I Would Bring My Powder Skis

Snow Towers

I was in Tahoe last weekend, teaching my daughter how to ski at Alpine Meadows. (Cuuuuuuuute!) While she was in ski school, I managed to sneak off for a few hours to make some turns with the grown-ups.

At the summit of Alpine, I saw this microwave tower, and I thought: “Wow, this is pretty much what Bernal Hill would look like if we got a big dump in San Francisco.” It was so easy to visualize.

I then commenced fantasizing about an epic powder run from the top of the hill down to my house on Precita. Mmmmmmmm.

I Love This View

Yes, yes… I know, it has snowed here before! Check out this view of the north slope after a dusting in 1882:

There wasn’t enough snow for a powder run, alas — even on rock skis. But as this photo makes clear, Bernal Hill is otherwise so skiable! Think snow, people. Also, think ski lift!

Photos: Alpine summit by Telstar Logistics. Bernal 1882, via Bernal History Project

This entry was posted in Bernal Hill, History, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If It Snowed On Bernal Hill, I Would Bring My Powder Skis

  1. johnny0 says:

    Can we convert the telco bunker into a restaurant and bar? I’m sure the NIMBYs wouldn’t mind.

  2. friscolex says:

    I’m thinking a solid toboggan could take on the slipperiest rocks… or slick grass in spring. I still probably couldn’t keep up with my dog up there, though.

  3. Janet C says:

    I like Johnny O’s suggestion. I live very close to the top and think it would be grand to be able to hike up a block to a drink and nosh. In my backyard, please.

  4. Pingback: Ski Bernalwood: Your Official Trail Map for San Francisco’s Premier Wintersports Resort | Bernalwood

Leave a Reply

