Crime Report: It’s Not an Action Movie; It’s Real Shots Fired on Alabama


This morning Bernalwood received a crime report from a reader who lives on the 1500 block of Alabama near Cesar Chavez:

At 10:15 last night my wife and I were watching a noisy action movie in the front room when seven shots were fired close by. We hit the floor, but when nothing else happened — I didn’t hear any car zooming away, if indeed the shooter escaped via a car, because it took me a minute to shut off the noisy movie — I looked outside while calling 911. The strange thing is that all was quiet for about three minutes, and then
some female screaming started. The cops started pouring into the block about a minute later. Even though I couldn’t see any details, it was clear that someone had been hit, because the whole block was blocked off for a couple of hours and the cops were going around putting down those numbered yellow evidence cones. I don’t see any news about it yet this morning but given the spate of recent shootings I wouldn’t be surprised if the Chronicle has something soon.

Anyone else hear or see it?

Update: SF Appeal has the story:

A San Francisco man was shot in the Mission district Sunday night and rushed to a hospital with life-threatening injuries, a police sergeant said.

The 27-year old man was sitting in a car in the 1500 block of Alabama Street at Cesar Chavez at around 10:20 p.m. when suspects approached, shot the victim multiple times, and then drove away, Sgt. Mike Andraychak said.

Photo: Telstar Logistics

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crime Report: It’s Not an Action Movie; It’s Real Shots Fired on Alabama

  1. treefern says:

    Heard 12 clear shots from an automatic weapon at about 10:20 last night. I was in our living room a little ways up the hill, on Mullen avenue. Before I could get to the phone, I heard sirens … then more sirens. Today’s coverage (examiner.com) suggests it was a drive-by, gang-related shooting.

  2. Gary Brickley says:

    I too heard the shots last night. We live on Montezuma and I was in the front room at the time. I distinctly heard at least 6 shots in rapid succession. I could tell they were coming from somewhere down below in the Mission. Since we’re on the north slope and up high we tend to hear everything. I waited about 5 minutes and then I heard the sirens. Unfortunately this is not the first time for this type of action.

  3. Erica Smith says:

    I was on Folsom at Precita, just heading into Precita Park. I saw a couple of guys in cars, with tinted windows that took off just after I heard what sounded like automatic gunfire.

    I guess I should have taken the dog and headed home much quicker! But I did hear sirens and see cops come by about 5 or so minutes later. I wish there was more police presence near Precita at night.

  4. jb says:

    I live right across the street from the shooting. At 1015pm we were sitting on our sofa when we heard ~10 shots in rapid succession. We dropped to the floor and crawled to the back of the house. I called the police once I got back there. There was no noise for a few minutes, then there was a woman screaming. I crawled back up to the front of the house and the woman was on the phone in the middle of the street screaming “My friend is dying!” Then I saw the guy in the green car parked in the driveway across the street. A much younger man climbed into the car to try to help him. The police showed up a minute later, and the ambulance a few minutes after that. They pulled the guy out, cut his clothes off in the middle of the street and I could see that his entire carriage was riddled with bullet holes. The ambulance took off another couple minutes later, and the police, detectives and CSI were there knocking on doors, looking in the trash bins and interviewing the 3 people that seemed connected to the man. The younger man that tried to help his friend (or big brother?) was drenched in blood and completely distraught. The two women were panicky and screaming. The CSI unit was still there when I went to bed at 2am.

    It was one of the most horrific things I’ve ever seen. I’ve been having terrible nightmares about it.

Leave a Reply

