New Neighbor Interview: Meet Dana; She Just Moved Here

New Resident
For those of us who have lived in Bernal Heights for a while, the glamour and high-society spectacles of our neighborhood are so familiar that it’s easy take it all for granted. That’s why it’s good to check in with a newcomer from time to time, to see how Bernal looks when you view it through fresh eyes.

Thus it is with great pleasure and eager curiosity that Bernalwood presents our first in an occasional series of New Neighbor Interviews, in which we will ask recent arrivals to Bernal Heights all sorts of nosey questions about their first impressions of this place we all call home.¬†Let’s meet our first participant, shall we?

Name: Dana
Came Here From: Santa Rosa, Calf.
Move-In Date: May 21, 2011
Bernal Address: Eugenia (at Bocana)
Rent or Own? Rents 1 BR apartment in older home with 2 other units

What do you do for a living?
I work at PG&E’s service planning department. I help get electric and gas services to new or remodeled large commercial or industrial developments. My title is Industrial Power Engineer.

Why Bernal Heights?
I was going to move to Cole Valley with a friend, but after looking around with her, I decided I wanted my own place. The rents are sky high over there for not-so-nice places. I asked around for what are nice neighborhoods, and heard about Bernal Heights. I looked online and there was ONE apartment for rent, I checked it and the neighborhood out, and loved the area. My place is smaller than what I used to have, but I feel safe and cozy.

First impressions of the neighborhood?
I think its down-to-earth and welcoming. It reminds me of where I grew up in New Jersey. The hilly and narrow streets were a bit shocking when I first drove on them. I love the families walking their children and dogs around.

Any unexpected surprises after you moved in?
The tree that fell down and blocked the street was a big one. At least I met my very nice neighbors that evening. A friend told me a nickname for B.H. is Maternal Heights. I can see what she’s talking about, as there are a lot of kids.

How would you describe Bernal Heights to a friend from out of town?
Its got great weather, a nice park to go for a good walk, and the views from up on the hill are spectacular. Cortland has some great shops. The people are down-to-earth and its a diverse, safe, and seemingly friendly neighborhood.

What are your biggest concerns about your new neighborhood?
The guy who parked his motorcycle in front of my apartment has taken up two parking spots for the past two weeks :-( ¬†Otherwise, no worries really. I’m still freaked about trying to unpack my previous 2 bedroom, 2 car garage house into a tiny one bedroom apartment.

Name your three favorite things about Bernal?

  1. The sunny-yet-breezy weather
  2. All the good energy from everyone walking around with their kids and dogs
  3. The casa salad at Vega’s.

Name three things you wish Bernal had (but which it currently does not)?

  1. Better AT&T Internet and TV service
  2. An Oliver’s grocery store like they have in Sonoma county. It’s really great, as they have cooked food to go, a really incredible salad bar, and local good food — its great for working people who are too pooped to cook.
  3. I can’t think of a third.
PHOTO: Neighbor Dana on Cortland Street, by Telstar Logistics
This entry was posted in New Stuff, People. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Neighbor Interview: Meet Dana; She Just Moved Here

  1. vizetelly says:

    Here, here for Dana’s #2 of wishes. I like the Good Life and it’s a great neighborhood grocery store, but the whole northeast corner of the store is a complete waste of time. The ready-made stuff hasn’t changed in the last five-to-ten years and is very unappetizing to say the least and the meat department has good enough stuff but heaven help you if you want them to cut up a chicken, say. At least Avedono’s can pick up some of the slack, and do it well, but I can’t believe the Good Life management committee can let a profit center go like that.
    Anyways, thanks for the space to rant. Welcome to the neighborhood, Dana.

    • SER says:

      I totally agree. The Good Life is missing out on the high-margin business they could get by transforming that corner into a more robust prepared-foods operation. Wow, that was a lot of business-speak, but you get the idea.

  2. Brent says:

    What’s funny about how she met her neighbors because of the excitement of the tree branch falling: after my wife and I moved in some years ago, there was an incident on our block that brought people out of their houses one evening. It was that incident that introduced us to our neighbors!

    Maybe more shocking things should happen so everyone gets to know their neighbors! ;)

  3. WJ says:

    Dana, see if you can get your landlord to agree to let MonkeyBrains install their antenna on your roof! http://bernalwood.wordpress.com/2011/03/03/a-reader-recommendation-for-a-homegrown-internet-services-provider/ I can’t say enough good things about this company. It’s the fastest and most reliable internet I’ve ever had in the city.

  4. rallyp says:

    This is a great feature! Looking forward to hearing about more new denizens of lovely Bernal Heights.

  5. Dana Massuk says:

    Thanks for the warm welcome!

Leave a Reply

