Interactive Map Enables Bernal Heights Time Travel


Get ready to spend the next few minutes immersed in blissfully satisfying distraction. There’s a new website called OldSF that combines interactive maps with geolocated historical photographs to create an easy-to-navigate history tour of San Francisco. Co-creator Dan Vanderkam explains:

Several years ago, I searched for my cross-streets on the Library’s San Francisco Historical Photograph Collection […]. The image was mislabeled — the intersection in the foreground is actually Waller and Fillmore, not Waller and Webster. Which meant that this photo from 1945 was taken from my roof!

I put together a now-and-then shot, but it always bothered me that the mislabeling of the image was so crucial to my finding it. This led to the idea of putting the images on a map.

And now, years later, we have that map!

It’s awesome. It’s geeky. It’s deep. And it’s got Bernal Heights covered. Kiss your productivity goodbye.

9 thoughts on “Interactive Map Enables Bernal Heights Time Travel

  1. This is amazing. Beyond Maptcha (which I try to work on whenever I have the chance), I’d love to know what non-skilled types like me can do to help these historical maps efforts.

  2. I found myself saying “Wow” repeatedly. Thank you for making such an wonderful map. Can’t wait to show my 9y.o. son who loves Bernal history.

  3. Love this! Maps are really becoming a new interface to organize large amounts of information. Reminds me of a demo I saw last week for Loku.com (you can try my beta code, but it may be expired: QX4S2F).

Comments are closed.