Micro-Interview: Thanksgiving Day at the Good Life

A last-minute scramble for a pie tin (grasshopper pie… mmmmm!) occasioned a Thanksgiving Day visit to the Good Life Grocery. The perfect excuse for a micro-interview!

Bernalwood: Anything been flying off the shelves today?

Manager Frank: Turkeys! The owners picked up these organic Willie Birds from the farm themselves. Also, bread. Our deli staff is baking fresh bread on-site now.

Bernalwood: How crazy has it been today?

Manager Frank: Not too bad. Yesterday was waaaaay worse!

Happy Thanksgiving, Bernal Heights!

 

This entry was posted in Cortland, Food and Drink, Merchants, People, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Micro-Interview: Thanksgiving Day at the Good Life

  1. BHLovr says:

    I’m grateful for Bernalwood…and pie.

  2. SER says:

    Love the micro-interview! And Frank, and the Good Life, and Bernal Heights, and Bernalwood!

  3. And Frank, when are you ordering the teriyaki & pineapple meatballs?

  4. Carol Grey says:

    How could I not love Frank as my dad and bro had the same name. Thank you Frank for kajuling the young pups outside your shop.

  5. Tony T. says:

    Frank is the best grocery store manager in the universe. A total freaking nut. I truly love the guy.

  6. Tenny says:

    Arf. Frank always feeds me when I’m tied up outside. Arf.

  7. Rusty says:

    Oh if only you could get freshly sliced deli meat at Good Life…

    • Maureen says:

      I second that, Rusty. I would much prefer to have my deli meats sliced to order and wrapped in paper – not plastic. Hopefully GL will read this as they have wonderful customer service and support local schools with their scrip program.

    • helena says:

      Oh but they do! Just a couple of weeks ago, I purchased a half pound of french ‘picnic’ ham, sliced before my eyes.

      • Rusty says:

        They always tell me the Willie Bird turkey is in the refrigerator case. And was packed 1+ weeks ago and the vacuum sealed plastic bags does strange stuff to the turkey. Today I was disappointed to see that they’re now fudging the date codes on the vacuum-packed deli meat: They had put a sticker over the original sticker saying it was packed yesterday but the original sticker said packed Nov 22nd. :-(

        Maybe I will have to insist they slice it fresh for me.

  8. Bree says:

    Just ask them behind the counter and they’ll do it!

  9. Nathalie "Wool Street" Peterson says:

    FRANK! Love him.

  10. Hey! I wrote a little article about the Good life’s amazing produce. If you want to check it out… go to here! Thanks! :)

    http://bluepearlgirlsworld.wordpress.com/2011/12/17/to-dream-of-the-produce-isle-now-this-is-the-good-life/

Leave a Reply

