Sh*t Bernalites Say

Michael Costuros and Kim Iglinsky at the Liberty Cafe in Bernal Heights

Sorry, no video. It’s just a list. But we want to cash in on this whole “Shit BlahBlahBlah Says” meme before it goes supernova and collapses in on itself.  So without further excuses, here is “Shit Bernalites Say,” collected from submissions Bernalwood received via Twitter.

  • “I miss the OLD Moki’s”
  • “St. Mary’s? is that Bernal?”
  • “I’m straight, but I love Wild Side”
  • “Dinner in The Mission? Ugh, that’s too far.”
  • “South slope or north?”
  • “I harvested these blackberries and rosemary from the Hill”
  • “We only buy our children gender-neutral toys.”
  • “Have you seen the coyote?”
  • “We love Bernal Heights, but now that I’m pregnant again, we’re thinking of moving to Orinda.”
  • “The teachers seemed nice, but we’re looking for a preschool that focuses more on Krystyn’s EMOTIONAL needs.”
  • “Was this beef grass-fed?”
  • “I knew her when she was a he.”
  • “Have you seen the bikini jogger?”
  • “I only use mason jars now. *Everything* else has BPA.”
  • “I was vegan until I got pregnant with Jaymee.”
  • “That’s Tom. You know him; he’s Muffin’s owner…”
  • “I really miss the owls.”
  • “YOUR CAR IS BLOCKING MY DRIVEWAY”
  • “Sandbox is the new Tartine.”
  • “Someone stole my succulents!”
  • “They call it maternal heights now!”
  • “We hit it off really well, but unfortunately our dogs weren’t compatible…”
  • “I feel kinda bad saying this, but I sometimes I just don’t know what to *do* with all of the stuff in my CSA box.”
  • “Why can’t I get a burger on Cortland at night?!?!”
BONUS! Shit Mission Hipsters Say About Shit Bernalites Say:
  • “I can’t wait to revive a played out meme!”

Have more suggestions? Add ‘em to the comments!

PHOTO: Patrons at the Liberty Cafe, by Thomas Hawk

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sh*t Bernalites Say

  1. ken garrett says:

    “I’m scared of Heights!”

  2. Chris Colin says:

    “Yeah, it was in Bernalwood today.”

  3. RenV says:

    He’s getting Ellis acted after 20 years of renting in Bernal

  4. ken garrett says:

    Come to think of it, that shit doesn’t qualify. The speaker was a flatland out-of-towner.

  5. Erik Ian Walker says:

    I’m going down to Get A Life- want anything?

  6. MrsCaptainSlow says:

    We’re headed to library park in 15 minutes. Bring Skuuts and mimosas. We can get sushi for the kids.

  7. Kathleen says:

    (____________________) has the best coffee in town

  8. Tenny says:

    Why yes, I am the Foursquare Mayor of Bernal Hill.

  9. Michelle says:

    I found the perfect nanny for Aloysius! She practices Reiki, AND will speak to him only in Xosa, Urdu, and Farsi!

  10. Almostnative says:

    Here’s one: this “shit that whoever and whatever says” has already collapsed, and is seriously

    DEAD.

  11. JANDER says:

    All I can say is that I am glad the fate of Glen Park, and its lack of Burger Goodness after 1500 hours, is not alone to Glen Park. Bernalwood neighbors, you too shall suffer the lack of tasy grilled beef and gooey American cheeses…

  12. Pingback: Urban Outfitters Uses Bernal Hill for Glamorous Catalog Shoot | Bernalwood

  13. Robert W says:

    “I liked Powhattan (or [insert street name]) better before they paved it.”

  14. Robert W says:

    Artists used to be able to afford homes here. No, really. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

