Errant Waterfowl Makes Cameo Appearance on Precita

This was probably inevitable, but Bernalwood’s growing reputation for glamour and luxury is beginning to attract wannabes and hangers-on. They come here to see and be seen in Bernal Heights… and they don’t really seem to care how well they fit in to the local environment.

To cite one recent example: Neighbor Dan captured these photos of a waterbird that decamped near his thoroughly landlocked back yard on Precita Avenue. 

Dan writes:

I believe this a Great Heron. I’ve spotted this guy a few times, mostly peering in to Neighbor Mike’s backyard. I’m told Mike has a pond with fish, so I’m guessing that’s what attracted all the attention.

PHOTOS: Neighbor Dan

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Errant Waterfowl Makes Cameo Appearance on Precita

  1. trail runnin man says:

    glamour, heck yeah! he came with the proper designer colors to compliment the house color scheme- or is that a blend-in camo action? either way, it’s life imitating art.

  2. northsloped says:

    Ardea herodias – (Great Blue Heron)

  3. Jennifer K says:

    So beautiful! I wish he would visit me. I have a jacuzzi…probably not the same attraction as a pond with fish.

  4. Frank P says:

    A Great Blue Heron.

  5. craig Sakowitz says:

    we saw him on top of one of the huge evergreens in holly park!

  6. Chris Doyle says:

    It’s an NSA drone.

  7. Lynne says:

    Several weeks ago he (or she?) flew just over my house on Mullen, landed on a pole across the street and then flew down Mullen toward Precita Park. If my memory serves me, I think a great blue heron visited a home on Peralta (with a fish pond) a while back?

  8. Amy Lambert says:

    I saw one of these blue herons at McLaren Park on Sunday. He seemed lost.

  9. waldito says:

    Flockupy Bernal!

    No, wait, I’ve got it:

    Precita Park, 1982: Heroin problem.
    Precita Park, 2012: Heron problem.

  10. Where do I obtain one of these beauties?

  11. Lupe says:

    Wouldn’t mind seeing one of these on my patio. Nice change from the opossum/raccoon types that frequent my area. But I imagine they have nasty habits as well…

  12. Pingback: Errant Waterfowl Returns to Familiar Spot on Precita Ave. | Bernalwood

Leave a Reply

