SF Giants Stitchbomber Strikes on Crescent Street

It happened yesterday, on Crescent Street.  The yarn-wielding bomber explains how she did it:

I plotted it out on graph paper ahead of time, but because of the major difference btw squares and diamonds, I had to re-adjust on the fly and redo a few spots. Just like with smaller-scale cross stitch, it came to life under my hands and took on a life of its own as I got further along.

Everyone who passed on the street was tickled. One guy said “That looks really cool!” A little girl yelled, “Giants!” And yeah, I realize a major-league baseball logo might seem like a lame public-art project, but in my culturally-diverse neighborhood, this crazy team’s logo really is common ground, guaranteed to make everybody happy.

Best part? I got upstairs and peered out my front window, and voila, two hipsters coming up the street took a picture in front of it. I’m still grinning!

PHOTOS: Fun of a Stitch

This entry was posted in Art, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to SF Giants Stitchbomber Strikes on Crescent Street

  1. Carol Gould says:

    this is the best thing I’ve seen all day!

  2. Bernalese, Man says:

    I like it a lot better now that I see it’s an SF and not a $. :)

    • Amy K. says:

      Oh, when I was googling to see if other people had had this idea, I did come across a site that recommended doing a dollar sign as a — I dunno what, occupy chain-link fence? The Giants are so beloved, I just knew this’d be the right thing for this spot. Really the other best thing is that every time someone stops to take a picture with it, my daughter asks if that’s Buster Posey.

  3. jeannie says:

    Was walking my dog when she was there…Was wondering what design she was putting there…
    And now I know…..

  4. arianne says:

    excellent to see! I plan on doing hearts along our chain link with all the scrap yarns and wool. sure would be great to see more of this! good job

  5. Michael M says:

    Very nice. We went to the game yesterday. Zito pitched his 150th win. It was a beautiful day at the park, you can see why they have 121 sell outs in a row. The best record in baseball, because it’s a good time.

  6. Amy Lambert says:

    It was great scenery for my daily dog walk. I think that we should expand to other types of yarn art on this very fence!

  7. Pingback: Yarnbombers Knit Cute Cozies for Bollards in Precita Park | Bernalwood

  8. adinparadise says:

    This is a lot of fun, ashley. Thanks for sharing, and also for your reblog of my “Close” post. :)

Leave a Reply

