Two Must-Read Articles by Bernal Heights Journalists

Though you’d hardly know it from the paltry number of then who have written for Bernalwood (AHEM! Hint! Hint!), Bernal Heights is home to several celebrity journalists who write for glamorous national publications.

For example, Tim Dickinson is a contributing editor at Rolling Stone, and he covers National Affairs from the magazine’s Bernal Heights bureau. Neighbor Tim just published a thoroughly reported piece that reveals how Mitt Romney used a federal bailout to rescue Bain Capital from financial collapse in the early 1990s:

Government documents on the bailout obtained by Rolling Stone show that the legend crafted by Romney is basically a lie. The federal records, obtained under the Freedom of Information Act, reveal that Romney’s initial rescue attempt at Bain & Company was actually a disaster – leaving the firm so financially strapped that it had “no value as a going concern.” Even worse, the federal bailout ultimately engineered by Romney screwed the FDIC – the bank insurance system backed by taxpayers – out of at least $10 million. And in an added insult, Romney rewarded top executives at Bain with hefty bonuses at the very moment that he was demanding his handout from the feds.

I know, right? What a surprise. Oh, and you’ll never guess who also loved loved loved Neighbor Tim’s article:

Wow. SO SEXY!

Meanwhile, you should also read yesterday’s New York Times piece by Bernal resident Chris Colin. Neighbor Chris tells Bernalwood, “This happened in Bernal, but isn’t about Bernal.” It’s a tale about a Craigslist transaction that went wrong after Chris got stiffed for 50 bucks by a buyer who never paid for the goods he received:

I didn’t care about the money. I cared about the abuse of this rare bit of fellowship. Hadn’t we carved out a morsel of old-fashioned San Francisco grooviness, at a time when the city seems to be pivoting into something less wild? Less wild and more coolly decadent, more $15 pickle plate-ish. I wanted to believe we could still get down to naked trust for a night, take our hands off the PayPal handlebars.

A few more weeks passed. Another month. There’d been one e-mail promising to mail the check, then silence.

Maybe this is catching him at a hard time, I thought. But truth was, Joe seemed to be having a pretty normal time. With his ample tweeting and active Facebooking — well over 1,000 friends! — he allowed for robust stalking. There he was on a sailboat. On a golf course. With some bros. Dancing goofily. Doing his handsome face. Doing some artsy stuff. He looked like someone you’d gone to camp with. Apparently he works for some progressive-sounding start-up, the kind whose Web site speaks of community and so forth.

Check out the rest of Chris’s tale of Digital Age IOU woe here.

6 thoughts on “Two Must-Read Articles by Bernal Heights Journalists

  1. I’d much rather read about Bernal in our Bernal blog than politics. It just doesn’t seem the right place to air opinions like this.

  2. Yes, I agree with Andee. Where was this muck raker when Obama was running in 08? Oh, that’s right he writes for Rolling Stone. Article number two was well written and thoughtful.

  3. I’m a fan of Chris’ and loved his piece. My little story: I once left my purse on BART. A young man called me at work and apologized for going through it to find my business card. He met me at BART and got off his train, ran to find me based on the description of myself I’d given over the phone, gave me my purse intact, got back on his train, and blew me a kiss. The only thing he had asked for was that I’d pray he’d get into the college he wanted. Sometimes people are worse than you expect, but sometimes they are far, far better. I liked one of Chris’ commenters: Joe is his own punishment. And this piece is our reward.

  4. Pingback: Neighbor David Talbot Laments the Tech-Fueled Transformation of Bernal Heights | Bernalwood

Leave a Reply

