Precita Creek Returns (Briefly) As Truck Strikes Fire Hydrant

Yesterday afternoon, as I was crossing Alabama, on my way from the Precita Park Cafe to Harvest Hills Market, I saw a trickle of water headed the other way. Someone washing a car? Soon, the flow became a torrent, and I realized that this was no mere car wash. Could it be the long awaited return of Precita Creek?

No.

A Recology truck had apparently uprooted the fire hydrant at the corner of Precita and Treat. And Precita Creek used to be on the other side of the park, anyway. Two little girls living on the temporary riverbank happily ran out to splash in it while it lasted.

This entry was posted in Calamity. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Precita Creek Returns (Briefly) As Truck Strikes Fire Hydrant

  1. bernaling,man says:

    I was trying to get the attention of a Recology driver one day, and in order to avoid my question he backed down a hill and hit a car. Then he blamed me. I seem to remember the cops came to ask me questions about it and/or his supervisor called, and I explained that I was half a block away, and he was backing down a hill to avoid me when he hit the car.

    Same driver?

Leave a Reply

