Badger Books Opens for Business on Cortland

badgerbooks1

Last weekend, Badger Books opened in the former Red Hill Books space on Cortland.

Truth be told, the differences between the old bookstore and the new one are still rather subtle. The cash register, which was once on the left, is now…. on the right!

badgerbooks2

As you can see, the space is generally more open and airy. Bernalwood was told that many, many, many musty old books were culled from the shelves. Badger plans to carry more new books, and gift items, with a deeper emphasis on Childrens’ and Cooking books.

We were also told that the store remains a work in progress, and we should check back in regularly.

So we will. In the meantime, it’s great to have a bookstore on Cortland again.

PHOTOS: Telstar Logistics

9 thoughts on “Badger Books Opens for Business on Cortland

  1. I may be preaching to the choir here, but I do want to remind our neighborhood that this bookstore will stay open only if you actually go there and buy books. More frequently than very occasionally. As one of the former owners of Four Star Video, I am acutely aware of how important it is for each and every person in our community to support this business! Was it a disappointing shock to you when it seemed like we’d no longer have a bookstore on Cortland? If so, go in there and BUY BOOKS!

  2. Next time I need a children’s book or cookbook I’ll gladly patronize Badger Books, but since I can’t remember the last time I bought either, I don’t think it will be anytime soon. I’m glad we still have a bookstore and wish Kate–assuming its the same owner–great success, but sadly, the specialized inventory doesn’t work for me. I used to shop in Red Hill frequently. My guess is that I spent about $50 a month there last year to feed my history and mystery fetish. Hopefully the new focus will bring in a lot of other customers because it is losing folks like me.

    • Kate is still the owner and the entire back half of the store is still filled with general inventory. In fact, my husband bought a mystery there on Saturday. Check it out before you buy elsewhere!

  3. It’s all in a name…Badger Books? Never seen a badger in Bernal. Raccoons, possums, coyotes, communists, maybe a skunk…but I ain’t seen no stinkin’ badgers. Anyway, welcome to the ‘hood.

  4. Pingback: Badger Books on Cortland Will Close, Permanently | Bernalwood

Leave a Reply

