For Sale: Rock Candy Snack Shop on Cortland

rockcandy.forsale

An observant Bernalwood reader sent us a tip yesterday about a “For Sale” sign in the window of the beloved Rock Candy Snack Shop on Cortland.

So odd. So curious. So confusing. Thus confounded, we picked up the Bernalwood red phone to ask Neighbor Heather from the Rock Candy Snack Shop if there was any news for us to discuss.

We were saddened to receive this reply:

Dear friends of the Rock Candy Snack Shop,

I wanted to take a minute and respond to the concern of the store being for sale. I am looking into finding a good neighbor to take over the store. I love being here; it breaks my heart to give it up. There is a good reason though, and I hope you understand how hard this is for us, and how we appreciate your support and love! Being here is where we wanted to be and it has been a wonderful experience I will cherish forever!

Three months after I opened my mom was diagnosed with liver cancer, had a major surgery, and now is on chemo that will only work for so long. The cost of her treatment can get expensive and I don’t have the means to care for her and the store.

I want to focus my energy on my mom’s care and make sure she is happy for the brief time I have left with her. It is because of her I was able to have the opportunity to open Rock Candy Snack Shop, not only has she watched my son countless hours that I have been working but she has helped financially too, being my biggest supported and partner.

With all my heart I thank you for being our friends and supporters for the last 2 years.  This is my home and I will see you at the garden or at the playground. Please send love and prayers to my family and wish us well as we do what is right for us.

I offer my hard work, love, and good will to the future of 521 Cortland Ave. We hope to find someone who will be fun and keep the heart of Rock Candy Snack Shop the same: to create a joyful place for family fun!

The good news is I am getting married and am so in love and happy! And as an entrepreneur I am already thinking about opening a push cart and catering business in the future, I love event planning and catering and want to keep the fun going, but for now first things first.

Thanks again Bernalwood for all the support you and your readers have offered. Thanks again Bernal Dads for coming together for us last year [to help buy a new laptop after Heather's was stolen] and Happy Fathers Day!!

Sincerely,

Heather

Stunned. Speechless. Heartbroken.

Heather also sent along this photo of her family, which we are grateful to have. That’s her son, and her mom, marking the opening of the store in 2011.

heatherfamily

We wish all of them the very, very best.

PHOTOS: Top, Telstar Logistics. Below, via Neighbor Heather.

8 thoughts on “For Sale: Rock Candy Snack Shop on Cortland

  1. “Stunned. Speechless. Heartbroken.” INDEED! It’s a good thing little children don’t read blogs or we’d be hearing a collective scream around the neighborhood today. Very best to you and your mom, Heather. I hope someone wonderful buys the business and keeps it exactly as is. Thanks for all the fun and candy.

  2. Congrats on the upcoming marriage Heather. All the best to you, your son & your Mom. We will be sad to see you go. You are such an asset to Cortland Ave.

  3. Pingback: Chez Panisse Alum Opening Little Bee Bake Shop on Cortland | Bernalwood

Leave a Reply

