A 60-Second Tour of Esmeralda Avenue, As Mapped (But Never Built)

Esmeralda plan 1924

Last week’s post about the confusing number of California Avenues in late 19th century Bernal Heights maps prompted an excellent suggestion from La Lengua’s rebel spokesblogger Burrito Justice:

Challenge accepted!

I stayed as close as I could to the original line of Esmeralda without breaking my neck or breaking-and-entering. Actually, I could have gotten a little closer at Peralta by walking the camera through my own apartment; I figured that would’ve been jarring. But I have taken a few stationary time-lapses out my front window, looking west on Esmeralda.

Up at the top of the hill, paper Esmeralda would have gone through the Sutrito Tower fence, or south of it, but I went north in order to hook up with the trail to the Esmeralda steps.

Here’s the final Esmeralda video:

Bernalwood’s favorite tree/shrub/pet cemetary makes an appearance at 0:15-0:18, and the Esmeralda slides appear at 0:54.

The easternmost “block” of Esmeralda, above Holladay and below Brewster and Franconia, is nearly impassable, so I cheated by zooming in and out from either side. A neighbor on what would have been the corner of Esmeralda and Holladay helpfully pointed me to the fire hydrant that marks the end of paper Esmeralda:

So enjoy the complete, contiguous, Esmeralda Avenue. Also available in animated GIF form:

Esmeraldaing2

This entry was posted in Geography, Unbuilt Bernal Heights. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A 60-Second Tour of Esmeralda Avenue, As Mapped (But Never Built)

  1. Peraltouille says:

    Extremely well done, neighbor.

Leave a Reply

