Movesoonthanks! Parked Motorcycle Tagged with Classic Parking Note

cyclenote1

cyclenote2

Neighbor Ron spotted this doozy of a parking note attached to a classic motorcycle on Eugenia and Wool this morning.

Three observations about the note itself: 1) The idea of reporting motorcycles for 72 hour parking may be true to the letter of the law, but not the spirit, since bikes take up relatively little urban space; 2) Impressive head-fake on the tone, which starts out friendly and complimentary but ends snippy and unmellow; and 3) Best parking note sign-off ever = Movesoonthanks!

PHOTOS: Neighbor Ron

This entry was posted in Found Things, Parking. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Movesoonthanks! Parked Motorcycle Tagged with Classic Parking Note

  1. Andy says:

    Who is going to tow it? The city or an angry neighbor? I say a neighbor should try a little harder to track down the owner of a bike that is “legally” parked (not block your driveway, red zone, handicapped zone, etc) before towing it. A motorcycle is not a car, when you tow a motorcycle from an owner who may not know the bike is towed at all, days could go by before they find out, by that time the tow fees may be more than the worth of the bike. Basically, you’re stealing their motorcycle from them, that’s really really mean. That Toaster-tank airhead is probably worth about 4k. Pro-tip, all the keys for those model BMWs are the same, get a key and enjoy your new bike ;-)

  2. Andy says:

    Personally I’d rather have the VW squareback in the background!

  3. Herr Doktor Professor Deth Vegetable says:

    I think that’s a totally reasonable note.

  4. bb says:

    It is obnoxious but better than calling DPT without bothering with the note…

  5. Beth Devener says:

    failed logic about bikes taking up little space when they park in the middle of a block and you can’t park in front or behind.

    • Todd_Lappin says:

      Fair point. Personally, I prefer when bikes park in those little stub-curbs between driveways, since no car fits there anyway. Although some homeowners also resent that because it prevents them from parking in front of their own driveway. *sigh*

      • kc! Bradshaw says:

        I used to always park my bike in those little stub-curbs to save space for cars, until the homeowner backed out without looking and creamed my bike. Now I park it in a regular space so that people will actually pay attention.

        However, whether driving a car or a motorcycle, I always try my best to leave as much parkable space on either side of my vehicle. Seems that is just common courtesy.

  6. Judge Crater says:

    I hate to agree with Herr Doktor Professor Deth Vegetable on anything, but I do in this case.

    Bikes and scooters are motor vehicles and are subject to the same parking laws as cars. They do take up space and can be even a greater hazard to navigation as a full size car. No one want to back into someone’s bike when backing into a spot.

    The note’s author is being nice. He doesn’t have to leave a note before calling the City. I’m sure if he knew the owner, he’d speak with them directly or not call at all.

    BTW that’s a narrow and very heavily trafficked block. Two way traffic is a challenge there.

    • motoguy says:

      When backing into a spot, objects will come at you from behind. I don’t see how a motorcycle is any more of a hazard than a car in this respect. I think what you mean is that when you hit a car, you can drive away quietly after inflicting only minor damage. However when you hit a bike, it falls over, making a huge racket and people often notice that you are a really bad parker.

      Motorcycles free up tons of parking. Cut them some slack, Bernal!

      • Judge Crater says:

        I think what you mean is that when you hit a car, you can drive away quietly after inflicting only minor damage.

        That’s not what I mean, because I am very careful not to touch the bumper of the cars ahead or behind me when parking.

        It can be more difficult to calculate the relative position of a parked bike due to its height/visibility profile. You are right, a car can inflict more damage to the broadside of a bike than to another car’s bumper. That is why a parked bike is a greater hazard to navigation. There is greater risk of inflicting damage.

      • Herr Doktor Professor Deth Vegetable says:

        Unless you’re trying to park at an unreasonable speed, you can bump a bumper without ANY damage. That’s what bumpers are FOR.

  7. kc! Bradshaw says:

    My biggest issue with this note is that it is taped to the paint job of the bike. You wouldn’t tape a note to a car’s paint job, so why would it be okay on this vehicle? And I don’t care if it is “painter’s tape” if the sun comes out, it will still get sticky and leave residue. There are plenty of other ways/places to attach a note.

    Secondly, I understand the frustration of the note-writer. I get it and I have personally felt it many times. Parking is difficult in our little neighborhood, and seeing all that space “wasted” by a vehicle is upsetting, but where are they getting this 72-hour rule? Isn’t it fair game to park your vehicle on the street unless signs say no parking between these times?

    • The 72-hour rule is the law citywide. Anyone who parks on the street more than occasionally would be well advised to commit it to memory.

      “In the absence of other restrictions, such as permit zones, street sweeping, meters or posted time limits, you are allowed to park in one spot for up to 72 hours.”

      https://www.sfmta.com/getting-around/parking/how-park-legally

    • Bernalese, man says:

      That’s nonsense about that type of tape causing any damage. If it were duct tape i’d be in total agreement with you.

      • Herr Doktor Professor Deth Vegetable says:

        Yup. That blue masking tape is specifically designed to be used on paint without damaging it.

      • kc! Bradshaw says:

        True, it’s designed to be easily removed—but anything left in the sun for long enough with adhesive on it is going to leave residue. (And they already know the owner isn’t regularly visiting the bike.)

        From the manufacturer’s website:
        “When used according to instructions, tape should remove cleanly from the surface. However, if tape is left on the surface for longer than the recommended time, or if a non-UV resistant masking tape is exposed to large amounts of sunlight, then the adhesive may transfer to the surface.” (http://www.scotchblue.com/wps/portal/3M/en_US/Scotch-BlueBrand/Scotch-Blue/Resources/Four/?WT.ac=HP_THUMB)

        No one would think of applying tape of any sort to a car paint job, so why would it be okay to apply any sort of tape to a motorcycle paint area? Especially when there are so many other non-painted places where you could tuck the note?

      • Herr Doktor Professor Deth Vegetable says:

        Why do you keep saying that? Of course people would tape things to a car’s paint job, why wouldn’t they?

      • Brandon says:

        Why wouldn’t they? Because they aren’t vandals destroying other people’s property in order to leave a passive-aggressive note?

      • waldo says:

        No, that blue painter’s tape is crap. It may be “specifically designed” to do X, but it doesn’t do X properly. As a product, it has lots of company in that regard.

        Go to a body shop and see if they use that blue tape. They don’t. So while the note’s complaint may be perfectly reasonable, it’s also reasonable for the motorcycle owner to be really pissed at finding that tape stuck to the gas tank.

    • Me says:

      Thank you~!

    • Me says:

      Thank you

  8. Barry Nemiroff says:

    The worst are the bikes that take up a large spot that could accommodate a bike and a car, and are left for a week, moved for street cleaning and then returned to the original spot. These are “park holes”, who have no consideration for their neighbors.

    • kc! Bradshaw says:

      Completely agree.

      *ANY* vehicle that is only moved 1x per week for street cleaning and returns right to the same spot is irritating. However, let me try and explain why bikes use larger spaces to park:

      In a perfect world, bikes and cars could park harmoniously in the city—small spaces for bikes, larger spaces for cars. However, there are just too many car drivers who don’t pay attention to motorcycles for this to work.

      I have seen countless examples of my personal motorcycle and many, many others being backed into, pushed, knocked over, and/or smashed because they were courteously parked in smaller spaces. (And I am not referring to motorcycles that cram themselves into the tiny space between parked cars, I am referring to legitimate, considerate parking spots leaving plenty of extra room for cars.)

      From my experience, it is much safer for a motorcycle to park in a larger space.

    • Me says:

      Agreed. I am not one of them so why was my scooter towed when I park in front of someone’s house that wants me to park there because cars can’t fit there. The owner is a doctor that needs to get out in the middle of the night for emergencies but often has to have cars towed that try to park there and can’t fit. I’ve measured the spot, not even a mini cooper can fit in it. I live in an area with parking permits and I have one for my scooter. What gives you elitist entitled brats of San Francisco? (I am not referring to you Barry, just the world of elitist San Franciscans with ridiculous entitlement issues).

  9. Judge Crater says:

    kc! Bradshaw, it’s a California state law that no motor vehicle can be parked on a public street for over 72 hours. After that a car can be cited and towed.

    • kc! Bradshaw says:

      Good to know, Judge. Thanks!

      • Me says:

        Actually the law is an ordinance of the San Francisco Transportation Code, the intent of of the law is for vehicles that have been abandoned. It’s purpose is to keep people from actually abandoning their vehicles due the issues it causes with urban blight, drug activity, graffiti, etc. It is enforced by the Department of Public Health. The city used to have to notify people in writing that the vehicle would be towed if it was not moved giving people who have not abandoned the property the right to move it and remove whatever problem it could be causing. This law was never intended to limit the amount of time a San Franciscan can use a public parking space. I’m sure that’s the reason signs were never posted about the law. This is also why it is a towing violation and not just a parking ticket, which you would get for exceeding a parking meter or violating a parking zone. When my scooter was towed, I was required to pay more than half the value of it to get it back and it was only a year old. As far as I’m concerned, that is theft and sure sounds like a violation of eighth amendment laws to me. It is, “grossly excessive as to amount to a deprivation of property without due process of law.”

        I talked to a lawyer about this. He said that if the vehicle was worth say, $30,000 and the city required me to pay all fines and fees totaling $10,000 to get it back, I could probably win that case but with it being such a small amount, I just get screwed. I don’t care what you say about this law, it’s FUCKING BULLSHIT!

  10. Erin says:

    Motorcycles get a bad rap no matter the circumstance:

    Car parking spot
    Legality: Completely legal to use a full car parking spot.
    Neighborly: Not very. Many bikes choose this option because motorcycles are fragile machines. One tipover can cost more than $10k! That isn’t a typo – the car (their insurance) paid out the max limits last time someone knocked my bike over.

    Cut-outs
    Legality: Completely legal
    Neighborly: Yes, and No. Yes, it leaves full parking spots for vehicles and NO because it limits the ability for neighbors to park in front of their garages. Then again, many people don’t use their garages to park their cars and instead have converted them to (sometimes illegal) units or storage. It isn’t the motorcycles fault that the space was re-purposed. Some of these units also add to population density and more vehicles in the nieghborhood.

    Motorcycle Spaces:
    Legality: Perfectly legal.
    Neighborly: Awesomely neighborly. 5 bikes can park in one car spot! However, surveys must be completed and oftentimes neighbors don’t like that a “spot” has been decommissioned for the 4-wheeled types.

    Sidewalk:
    Legality: Illegal – $105 ticket
    Neighborly: Very, as long as it doesn’t block the sidewalk or the ability of a car door to open. Every other modern country in the world allows this but for some reason SF is behind the times. This feeds into the never-ending cycle that is parking in car spots, cutouts, and trying to find limited motorcycle spots.

    It’s a tough world. Talk to your neighbors and perhaps a simple resolution can be found. if you feel compelled to leave a note on a motorcycle, please leave some way for the owner to contact you to discuss your concerns. Otherwise, you’re not really helping.

  11. doug says:

    If it’s not possible to park in front or behind the bike, that has just as much to do with the cars on either side of it. How do we define a parking space on an unmetered street? Can the owner of the motorcycle just move the bike a foot or two every 3 days?

    • Me says:

      Technically, it’s supposed to be 1/10 of a mile. How the heck I’m supposed to know how far that is away from where I live, I have no idea.

  12. gongalong says:

    Parking-related thought experiment: if I don’t currently own a car, but want to get in on the “store your private stuff on public property for free” bonanza, is it legit if I buy and fill up a junky old van and park it on the street so long as I move it every 72 hours?

    • doug says:

      I actually know someone that did exactly that for a while. The occasional ticket was cheaper than storage.

    • Herr Doktor Professor Deth Vegetable says:

      Yes, it is absolutely legal to do that. Driving around the city, it looks like a lot of people do exactly that.

    • G says:

      it’s not exactly free– that’s what state vehicle registration (in CA, among the highest fees in the nation) fees pay for.

  13. SF native says:

    New to the neighborhood and I think the note is reasonable. Most “neighbors in other parts of the city would have it towed.

    • Me says:

      WHY???????????? WHAT IN THE FUCK IS IT DOING TO YOU? Do most people in San Francisco just enjoy being dicks to their neighbors just for shits and kicks? I don’t get it. This takes up no space you flipping idiot. On my street I can’t walk 20 steps without their being another place to park a scooter or a motorcycle.

  14. Ilana G says:

    If you call the City (311) to get a vehicle ticketed or towed, the enforcement officer who comes will check the plates and can see if it’s registered to a neighbor. Then they’ll ask what you want to do, and they can talk to the neighbor for you if you like.

    • kc! Bradshaw says:

      Good to know. Is that an official policy or just what the nice enforcement officers do?

    • GLH says:

      I’ve never had this happen. I have gotten a few notices to move my car and no one has ever talked to me about it. I’m happy to move it but I seriously doubt the city people have time to call every person to move their car if a neighbor has a problem with it.

      • Me says:

        Someone actually did do this for me once when I had a car. I am really greatful that they did. I try to be very respectful of my neighbors’ driveways but the street light was out by their house and I didn’t see that I was blocking their driveway. They let me move it. Very nice of them, they had every right to boot my car out of there. These days I’m sure the city just looks at it like another opportunity to make money off of the poor saps of San Francisco.

  15. GG says:

    They’re being extremely nice. We have the same problem in my neighborhood (which doesn’t require residential permits), and I know all my neighbors’ cars. Any strangers get reported right away, I don’t leave notes.

    • Hsm says:

      I agree with GG. We are also a narrow, no permit street and are starting to see more cars getting ” warehoused” here — maybe it’s summer travel — but any car we don’t know gets called in after 72 hours. (After checking with everybody on the block)

  16. Brandon says:

    Once again, friends and neighbors, if you want convenient parking, pay for a space.

    • Me says:

      That works just fine until you are laid off in a downturn and have a completely disfunctional public transportation system. Despite this fact, I’m sorry to have to make you face this Brandon, but I have just as much of a right to liver here as you do.

      • Brandon says:

        Your right to live here is not at issue. The point is that easy access to parking is not a right, and if it’s a priority for you (and it’s not for many) then you can only guarantee that by paying for an off-street space. I’m not making a value judgment, just an observation.

        I’m sorry to hear that you were laid off. Been there myself in the not-so-distant past, and that’s rough. Good luck finding your next gig.

  17. “Best Signoff Ever! Parking Note Zinged by Local Blogger.” — can someone start the Inception-style animated .gif? I think this thing has legs.

    “This Thing Has Legs! Local Blogger Ribbed by Self-satisfied Commenter.”

  18. ac says:

    During the week of 4th of July someone parked their car in front of our house. It was there for 1 week +/- 2 days. I only realized it hadn’t moved by the large amount of bird droppings and tree detritous on the windshield. I figured someone was on vacation and how much would it suck if I came back from vacation to find my car gone? I did the most passive aggressive thing I could and put all the menu fliers from our door on their side mirrors. Somehow though the fliers vanished. Was the car owner on vacation? Maybe they had a stay-cation? Perhaps they were recovering in their homes from a surgery or grave illness? In any event the car was moved within a couple days and I no longer see it on our street. The mystery of the vanishing side mirror fliers is now but a memory only recalled when yet another Chinese take menu has to be removed from our doorway and put in the recycling……oh parked car our menus yearn for you!

    I will say if it was there for another week that sucka was gonna get towed!

    • Me says:

      You can say what you want about the Marina, but I’d rather live in my neighborhood any day of the year over yours. People just don’t do this to each other where I live and they don’t think like this. My scooter was towed during the America’s Cup so I have parking issues whenever we have big events down the street but at least I have nice neighbors.

  19. Jon N Bek says:

    I’ve had my bike towed before from Bernalwood. $600 all said and done. I may not speak for all bike owners, but feel free to grab the clutch and move the orange KTM across the street if you’re angry. That thing is deathproof, don’t even worry if you down it, just pick it back up!

    • kc! Bradshaw says:

      Please note: this is NOT true about all bikes.

      Please do not feel free to touch, move, sit on, or fiddle with motorcycles that you aren’t intimate with, unless the owner gives you explicit permission. Especially if you haven’t handled one before.

    • Me says:

      I totally understand what kc! is saying but I personally agree with Jon. If my tiny, little, light scooter is pissing you off that much, just roll it off the center stand and move it across the street. It’s pretty easy to move. There’s no clutch and it just needs to be rolled back on the center stand. By the way, it’s a green Aprillia Scarabeo.

  20. I drove past yesterday, and the bike had moved like half a block or so. I was thinking of parking next to it, since that was clearly possible. It’s only a bike. The only achievement here is the disclaimer that one’s neighbors are agro. In SOCA (South of Cortland Ave), we have street cleaning every ~2 weeks, which takes care of the deadbeats: I see no reason to get upset about anything that stays for less than that – if it’s a car. If it’s a bike, it’s not really using any space anyway. Lighten up, pals.

    This is, of course, my opinion only. I’d add that I’m not under the illusion that I own the street near my house. Also, I’ve lived in places like London, and the Castro, where parking is actually hard, and I’m grateful for every minute of only having to walk a block or two when parking in most of Bernal. Chill.

  21. Jeeze Fiid… now you’ve done it – you’ve forced another SF micro-hood into existence! SOCA indeed.. now all the maps will have to be re-drawn, a council will have to be voted in, and we’ll have to decide what positions to take in the “Overly precious SF neighborhood debate planning meetings.” I hope you’re happy with yourself…

  22. Jrod says:

    Clearly a case of motorcycle racism! or would that be race-ism?

Leave a Reply

